Nampula is a province of northern Mozambique. It has an area of 79,010 km² and a population of 3,985,613. Nampula is the capital of the province. Nampula Province is located in northeastern Mozambique. It is bordered on the north by Cabo Delgado Province and the Lúrio River.

Under Portuguese rule this province was named Moçambique, but with independence, the name Mozambique was used for the entire country and the province renamed for its capital. The island, Ilha de Moçambique, was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1992. Massive refugee movements due to 15 years of civil war have destroyed a unique coexistence of many cultures on this island.

Napula Province borders Niassa Province to the northwest and west, Zambezia Province to the southwest, and the Indian Ocean to the east. The Ligonha River separates it from Zambezia Province; the Makua peoples inhabit the area to the north of the river. From the south, the Malema River flows from the Namuli hills into the Ligonha. TheMeluli River flows down through the province in a southeasterly direction, flowing into the Indian Ocean to the south of Angoche  Island. To the west of the city of Nampula, which lies in the heart of the province, are several hilly areas. Mountains in the province include Mount Ribaue, Mount Panda and Mount Nairucu.

The region is a major producer of cotton, and is known as the Cotton Belt of Nampula. Also produced in the province are cashew nuts, tobacco, gems and other minerals. Many of the cotton and tobacco farms in Nampula Province are state-owned.

Copyright 2021 Foreign Affairs Office of Hainan Province. All rights reserved.


Copyright 2021 Foreign Affairs Office of Hainan Province.
All rights reserved.