Crimea Autonomous Republic

The Autonomous Republic of Crimea, Ukraine (the Russia Federation announced the annexation of Crimea on March 18, 2014)

The Autonomous Republic of Crimea is situated on the Crimean Peninsula along the northern Black Sea Coast. With Simferopol as the capital city, the Autonomous Republic of Crimea covers an area of 25,500 square kilometers and has a population of about 2.5 million, most of whom are Russians and Ukrainians. There is considerable tension between Russians and Ukrainians.

The Crimean Mountains, with an elevation of 1,545 meters at their highest point, extend along the southern portion of the Crimean Peninsula and form part of the northern Black Sea coast of southern Ukraine. 75% of the rest of the Peninsula is half-dry grassland.

Due to its warm climate, the southern part of the Crimean Peninsula serves as an ideal place for health rehabilitation. In fact, top leaders in the Soviet era often came here to spend their holidays. In addition to orchards and grape yards, there are also a large number of mosques, monasteries, Russian royal palaces and castles, the legacy of ancient Greek and medieval times.

In 1941, German forces suffered heavy casualties when launching offensives in Crimea but at last broke through the defense of Soviet Army. In 1944, the Soviet Army took back Sevastopol. In February 1945, the Yalta Conference was held in Crimea.

By 1955, Crimea had become part of the USSR. It was transferred to the Ukrainian SSR in 1955 to commemorate their victory in the Second World War. After the disintegration of the former Soviet Union, Crimea became part of the Ukraine. Crimea proclaimed independence on May 5, 1992, but later agreed to become an autonomous territory in the Ukraine.

Copyright 2021 Foreign Affairs Office of Hainan Province. All rights reserved.


Copyright 2021 Foreign Affairs Office of Hainan Province.
All rights reserved.